Partners and the public can view photos, business documents, objects such as the only surviving piece from the bombing of the John Lewis Oxford Street store during the Second World War, and back issues of the UK’s longest-standing internal magazine - the Gazette - which celebrated its centenary in 2018. A vast 30,000 piece textile collection dating back to 1799, which even includes Queen Victoria’s bonnet and fabric we supplied for the Titanic is also on display.
The collection is regularly used today for inspiration and as a design resource for our in-house creative teams and we constantly collect records of future historic importance for our archive. If you have any records or treasures that relate to the John Lewis Partnership then please get in touch as we welcome donations.
The Heritage Centre is open to the public on Saturdays 10am - 4pm and to Partners, retired Partners and their guests on Thursdays from 10am - 6pm. Visitors can park in The Grove car park, Odney Lane, with the centre located at the end of Odney Lane, over the bridge in Grove Farm field.
The Heritage Centre will not be open on Saturday 21st or Saturday 28th December as we will be supporting our Partners in the shops.
We look forward to welcoming visitors at the Centre every Saturday from 4th January 2020 onwards.