John Lewis Partnership Trust

John Lewis Partnership Trust Limited ('the Trust Company') holds the Deferred Ordinary Shares in the capital of the Company, in trust, for the benefit of the Partners.

The main purpose of the Trust Company ('the Trustee'), under the Constitution, is to protect the Constitution and democracy of the Partnership.

The Trust Company has five Directors: the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Partnership and three Elected Directors, who are known as the Trustees of the Constitution. They meet as required.

The Articles of Association of the Trust Company states that the Chairman appoints both his own successor and the Deputy Chairman. This follows the wishes of the Partnership Founder, who believed that each appointment should represent the interests of the Partnership and work to preserve its future. The Chairman's Nominations Committee oversees the appointment process of the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman. The Trustees of the Constitution are elected by the Partnership Council.